Arsenal And Manchester United Possible Opponent In The Europa League Last 16.

Arsenal and Manchester United will finally find out who they will face in the Europa League round of 16 today.

The Gunners reached the final of the competition in 2019 but were beaten 4-1 by Chelsea and, at the time, that defeat extended their absence from the Champions League to four consecutive seasons.

After Manchester United seeing off Barcelona at Old Trafford United can now turn their attention to who they will face in the next round, with the in-form Red Devils likely to face a slightly less illustrious opponent.

Gunners can’t face Real Betis, Fenerbahce, Ferencvaros, Feyenoord, Freiburg, Real Sociedad or Union Saint-Gilliose as they are the other seven UEFA Europa League group stage winners.

Furthermore, as per UEFA’s ruling that clubs from the same association cannot be drawn against each other, Mikel Arteta‘s side will avoid an all-Premier League clash against Manchester United.

Meanwhile, there is a curious situation whereby United could face Real Sociedad yet again, with the Spanish side having

topped Group E on goal difference after winning 1-0 at Old Trafford – though they lost the reverse fixture by the same scoreline.


Read Also: Manchester United Vs Barcelona 2-1 Highlights (Download Video)


• Friday’s Transfer Gossip: Saka, Konate, Min-Jae, Valencia, Ramos, Rice, Bellingham, Lukaku, Fabinho


 Arsenal possible opponent in the Europa League last 16?

  • Sevilla (ESP)
  • Juventus (ITA)
  • Sporting Lisbon (POR)
  • Bayer Leverkusen (GER)
  • Union Berlin (GER)
  • Roma (ITA)
  • Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)

Manchester United Possible Opponent in the Europa League last 16?

  • Real Betis (ESP)
  • Fenerbahce (TUR)
  • Ferencvaros (HUN)
  • Feyenoord (NED)
  • Freiburg (GER)
  • Real Sociedad (ESP)
  • Union Saint-Gilloise (BEL)

The Europa League last 16 draw will take place on Friday, February 24 and, as ever,

the ceremony will be hosted at UEFA’s headquarters, the House of European Football, in Nyon, Switzerland.

The draw will begin at 12pm local time (11am UK time)

Write A Comment