Ballon d’Or 2021 30-Man Shortlist Reveals: Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski & Jorginho

Ballon d'Or 2021 30-Man Shortlist Reveals: Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski & Jorginho

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski are among the nominees on the 30-man 2021 Ballon d’Or longlist to have been released by France Football.

No player has won as many Ballon d’Or trophies as Messi.

so could the legendary Argentine claim the prestigious award for a seventh time?

Messi has had better years, but has still managed to score 37 goals and notch 14 assists in 46 games for club and country.

He might have had a slow-ish start to life at PSG, but those are still incredible numbers!

The likes of Euro 2020 winner Jorginho and his Chelsea team-mate N’Golo Kante also have their sights set on a shock win.


Who is in contention for the 2021 Ballon d’Or?

A list was leaked which revealed the 30 names, 20 of which have been confirmed by FranceFootball thus far.

Leaked list

Cesar Azpilicueta

Phil Foden


Robert Lewandowski

Romelu Lukaku

Kylian Mbappe

Gerard Moreno

Mohamed Salah

Luis Suarez

Cristiano Ronaldo


Nicolo Barella

Karim Benzema

Leonardo Bonucci

Giorgio Chiellini

Kevin De Bruyne

Ruben Dias 

Gianluigi Donnarumma

Harry Kane

Simon Kjaer

Bruno Fernandes

Erling Haaland

N’Golo Kante


Riyad Mahrez

Lautaro Martinez

Lionel Messi

Luka Modric

Mason Mount


Raheem Sterling


Now that a 30-man list of top performers from the last 12 months has been compiled, the voting process can begin.

A selection of international journalists, national team coaches and captains,

will be polled to determine the winner, with each voter being asked to pick out their top five.

Once that process has been completed.

The prestigious prize will be handed out at a glitzy ceremony in Paris on November 29.

France Football also released 20 nominees for the women’s award.

With superstars like Sam Kerr, Pernille Harder, and Vivianne Miedema making the list.


Read Also: Friday’s Transfer Gossip: Lampard, Ramsey, Bruce, Asensio, Sterling, Dembele, McKennie, Winks, Icardi


Full list:

Alexia Putellas

Magdalena Eriksson

Marie-Antoinette Katoto

Sam Kerr 

Stina Blackstenius

Wendie Renard

Samantha Mewis

Pernille Harder

Vivianne Miedema

Sandra Panos

Lieke Martens

Jessie Fleming

Irene Paredes

Ashley Lawrence

Christine Sinclair

Ellen White 

Christiane Endler

Jennifer Hermoso

Fran Kirby

Kadidiatou Diani

Other awards

France Football announced 10-man shortlists for two further awards:

The Kopa Trophy, given to the best performing player under the age of 21, and the Yashin Trophy, given to the best goalkeeper.

Kopa Trophy shortlist:

Mason Greenwood, Bukayo Saka, Pedri, Jeremy Doku, Ryan Gravenberch, Jamal Musiala, Florian Wirtz, Jude Bellingham, Giovanni Reyna, Nuno Mendes

Yashin Trophy shortlist:

 GianluigiDonnarumma, Ederson, Kasper Schmeichel, Edouard Mendy, Keylor Navas, Emiliano Martínez, Manuel Neuer, Jan Oblak, Samir Handanovic


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *