CL Last 16 Draw: Which Teams Are In Which Pots &All You Need To Know

CL Last 16 Draw: Which Teams Are In Which Pots &All You Need To Know

The Champions League’s group stage has almost come to and end. Fifteen of the 16 sides in the knockout rounds are known, with just Atalanta and Villarreal’s postponed fixture remaining to decide the last team to make it through the group stage.

Now fans of Europe’s top sides and elite-level football in general are thinking about one thing – the draw for the Champions League’s Round of 16.

 

Which teams have qualified for the Champions League last 16?

The teams to have qualified for the Champions League last 16 are Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Manchester City, Liverpool, Ajax, Bayern Munich, Manchester United, Lille, Juventus, Paris Saint-Germain, Sporting CP, Inter, Benfica, RB Salzburg, and Chelsea. One of Villarreal or Atalanta will also progress after their game on Thursday.

 

Read Also: UCL: Manchester United Vs Young Boy 1-1Highlights(Watch&Download)

 

• UCL: Zenit St Vs Chelsea 3-3 Highlights (Watch& Download)

 

What is the format for the Champions League last 16 draw?

The teams are divided into two pots – group winners and runners up – with those from pot one to face those from pot two.

Teams are unable to face sides from their same country in the last 16.

Nor can they play against teams whom they shared a group with.

Real Madrid cannot face Atletico nor Inter, while Atletico can’t meet Liverpool.

Pot one: Ajax, Bayern, Liverpool, Man City, Man United, Real Madrid, Juventus, Lille.

Pot two: PSG, Sporting, Atletico, Inter, Chelsea, Villarreal/Atalanta, Benfica, Salzburg.

 

When is the draw for the Champions League last 16?

The draw for the Champions League last 16 takes place on Monday, December 13.

The draw will be held in Nyon, Switzerland, and it will begin at 12:00 midday CET.

Wchich means it will start at 11:00 GMT, which is 06:00 ET, and 03:00 PT in the United States.

 

When is the Champions League last 16?

The first leg of the Champions League last 16 will be played on February 15, 16, 22, and 23. The second legs will be held on March 8, 9, 15, and 16.

 

Will away goals count in the Champions League last 16?

Away goals will no longer be used as a tiebreaker in the Champions League this season.

In the event of an aggregate draw after 180 minutes, games will go to extra time and penalties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.